I Only Wish

     Let me finish the thought; I only wish I had actually committed all the sins I am seeking atonement and forgiveness for. My good friend Paul (aka Pauly cuff-links) recently said those words to me. After we stopped laughing, the seriousness of the thought struck me.

They caused me to think about the mistakes and errors in judgment we make in our daily travels and transactions. Some of these mistakes are great and some are deminimus, but they all end up in the same place, on the shelf we label Regret.

One of the greatest, most poignant quotes of my time, at least in my opinion, comes from an obscure event in May of 1992 when LA was exploding from riots and Rodney King uttered those famous words; ‘Why can’t we all just get along’. The thought of tolerance, not even acceptance, just tolerance applies equally to how we look at and treat ourselves. We certainly need to give our follow Bobs and Betties some slack but before we can do that, we need to give ourselves some slack. We are not perfect; we are not supposed to be. It is from these mistakes and missteps that we learn how to be better people.

I-Wish-Web-Main

So go easy on yourself. Live life to the fullest, accept your imperfections and learn from
your errors as best as you can. At the end of the proverbial day, forgive yourself, look in the
mirror and smile, after all, you’re only human.

Peace,

The Ultimate Bob

Leave a Reply

