Men and Manicures: When is Much Just Too Much?

First things first, I’m a bit uncomfortable with the title of “The Ultimate Bob”.  Bob is a tiny bit too masculine for me, so let’s stick with something a tiny bit more attractive.  Just call me … “The Ultimate Bobby”.  We’ll go with that.  Speaking of masculinity (see what I did there?), that’s kind of what I’d like to talk about: men and manicures.
hands
Personally, I don’t mind men getting manicured, in fact I’m one of those who gets them.  However, I find that most people, men and women collectively, disapprove or find humor in men getting manicured.  We live in the year 2013, and gender roles and their relevance are on their way out.  So it’s hard for me to believe that this proves to be an issue today.  Are men and manicures just too much?  My answer: No.
There are several reasons why:
1) It’s hygienic, an important trait in the work place AND in a relationship
2) It improves the strength of the nail itself
3) It’s shiny!
4) It shows that the man is comfortable enough with himself, and he’s open-minded
5) It’s shiny!!!!
So when you’re looking at a Bob with pristine nails, don’t pass judgement on him.  Instead, praise the Bob for his hygiene and for his open-mindedness.  Besides, don’t we all want a man who cares just a TINY bit about what he looks like?  Is it not true that any good Bob always wants to look his best?
So Betties [and Bobs], men and manicures aren’t too much, they’re just enough.  I’d be more worried if they’re enjoying some retail therapy and asking how your older brother is — THAT’s too much.
By the way, HOW is your brother?  😉
XO,
“The Ultimate Bobby”
Leave a Reply

