Comfort Zone

AC DC Concert Stage (Montreal) - Colorful Lights

Friend: I have tickets to this sick concert, but so-and-so backed out…. do you want to come with me?

Betty 1: What night is it?

Friend: Tomorrow at 8pm. You in?

Betty 1: Sure, I’m off work at 6:30pm.

A friend offering up a FREE ticket to a concert on a whim? Hell yeah I’m in. Do I even care who it is? Not really. Well, maybe I should have asked before accepting their generous gift. The day of the concert arrives and a text message on the venue is received. That should have been the first clue! Letting the excitement take over, I continued to get ready. Make-up, sassy hair, the nicest pair of jeans a girl can own, and heels.

Entering the concert venue and seeing the crowd should have been another tip-off.. but nothing is clicking at this point. After walking up to the security guards who look at me as if I were an alien, they began to frisk me. That’s the most action I had seen in a couple of months. A neon flashing light “BEER & WINE” grabs my attention and immediately, I’m happy. I just made that security guards life, letting him get to second base. Three glasses of Chardonnay later, I meet up with the rest of my group. The look on their faces when they see my outfit is somewhat shocking. I think, ‘why are you dressed like you’re running errands.’ Everything clicks the moment we walk up four flights of stairs to the concert.

Bass Booming. Sneakers. Beanies. Booty Shorts, Half Shirts, and Heels. Beers spilling out of cups from what looks like 16 year olds consuming it. Where the hell am I? Oh… I’m at a RAP concert. Never in life have I ever been mortified. Not that I’m at a hip-hop concert, but that I’m dressed up for a night out in Vegas.

Friend: Girl, you okay?! You look like someone just ran over your cat.

Betty 1: Uhh… wouldn’t you get the same look when you notice your drink is empty? Where is the bar!?

Friend: Right over there (points in direction)

My friend was right. I was in complete and UTTER shock. The guy on stage had on a gas mask and a bullet proof vest. ‘Does he think he’s actually going to get shot? What if people here do have guns?’ Every single person in the venue looked like they were either a blood or crip. I’m also pretty sure I was the only skinny, white, blonde girl who owned a pair of Marc Jacob heels in a 10 mile radius. After the initial shock, I had one of the greatest nights of my life.

The point of this post, Betties is to embrace every single situation you are in with a positive attitude. I met some of the coolest people that night. Half way through the show, one of the five rappers asked to bring up six girls (all of different ethnicities) to get on stage and have a dance-off. One of the FUNNIEST things I had seen in a very long time. I learned quickly that the rapper and his posse were down-to-earth, normal, dudes that were having the time of their life. They were passionate, Intelligent, and hilarious. The type of people who I would enjoy hanging out with. In between each song, a member of the group would have a topic or message to share with the audience. Things I would never expect to hear from such a group. Walking out of the venue, I felt inspired. Strange but completely eye-opening.

Every situation your in is a learning experience. It taught me that less is more. If I would have known what concert it was I might have made an excuse to get out of going. Say ‘Yes‘ more. Open your mind to new experiences and new groups of people. It’s the first of the month, Betties. How do you want to spend it? Do you want to fill your brain with as much knowledge as possible? Continue on the path you’re on? We challenge you to do at least one thing this month you aren’t used to. Expand your horizons. We guarantee if you do that just ONCE, it will become addicting. It’s the only way to grow as a person.

What have you done before that completely changed your outlook on a situation, group, stereo-type, etc? We want to hear it!!

Happy November!

XO,

The Ultimate Betties

One thought on “Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

