Step-By-Step Sunday: Cleaning Make-Up Brushes

Happy Sunday Betties!
Hope you all are enjoying your long weekend. Each Sunday we will feature step-by-step instructions on things we have found helpful.

Hopefully, you all read the skin care post. We couldn’t emphasize enough how important taking care of our skin is. After all, being a Betty is 70% how we take care of ourselves. You can use the greatest, most expensive, skin care regime but if your make-up brushes aren’t clean…. It kind of defeats the purpose. We have tried numerous ways to get my brushes almost brand new again. This is by far the BEST way.

20120902-134835.jpg

First, you will need these items.
*Hand soap
*Olive oil
*A plate
*Paper Towels
*Water
*Your dirty, dirty, brushes….

20120902-134956.jpg

Mix equal parts of hand soap and olive oil. We started out with a Teaspoon, but you will definitely be adding more as you go.

20120902-135105.jpg

Take a dirty brush and swirl it into the mixture for about 30 seconds. You will notice almost immediately all the buildup of makeup (like so)

20120902-135311.jpg

Take your brush and run it under water until all of the soap bubbles are gone. You can always place the brush back into the soap and olive oil to make sure all the residue is gone and repeat the water step.

20120902-135552.jpg

Shape your brushes and lay on paper towel to dry. Wah-la!

This is what our brow and eye shadow brushes looked like. Brace yourself – it’s not pretty…..

20120902-140646.jpg

Can you believe it?! Either we wear too much makeup or every cleaning process we used before DIDNT WORK!

Hope all our Betties found this useful. Have a great Labor Day!

Xo,
The Ultimate Betties

14 thoughts on “Step-By-Step Sunday: Cleaning Make-Up Brushes

  1. I simply want to mention I am just new to blogs and definitely savored this web blog. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your website . You definitely come with wonderful articles and reviews. Cheers for sharing with us your website.

  2. I’m honored to get a call from a friend when he observed the important tips shared on your own site. Examining your blog post is a real brilliant experience. Thanks again for taking into account readers like me, and I desire for you the best of success for a professional in this field.

  3. I have to convey my admiration for your kindness for individuals that require assistance with this particular study. Your personal dedication to getting the message around had become wonderfully powerful and has usually allowed ladies much like me to attain their goals. Your new warm and friendly tips and hints implies a lot to me and additionally to my peers. With thanks; from everyone of us.

  4. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website
    and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page for a second
    time.

Leave a Reply

