Practice Makes Perfect!

The 90’s. When MTV still played music videos. To this day, if I hear anything that is related to the 90’s, my ears perk up like a puppy when they hear the crinkling of the dog food bag. Every-Betty and everybody has a favorite decade, whether it be for the music, the television shows or maybe it was just your favorite decade as a child. The 90’s for me was epic! The music of that decade is by far my favorite. There is nothing like working out in the gym to the sounds of the Gin Blossoms, Sugar Ray and hell, even N’Sync to get my adrenaline pumping.

If you are a 90’s junkie like myself, you understand what I am about to explain. The lyrics in the songs just relate to your life, all alternative. I am actually laughing as I write this but it’s true. The 90’s music represent this quote I once heard, “When you’re happy you enjoy the music but when you’re sad, you understand the lyrics.” –Frank Ocean. Every 90’s artist, went by this and created music that you really had to listen to. I bet if you were to open your Facebook and look at your friends status’ that contain lyrics, 75% of the lyrics would come from a song in that decade. They just made their music so damn quotable.

90’s television was just as good to watch in the 90’s as it is nowadays. Betties, its OK to admit you still secretly watch your favorite childhood t.v. show when no one is around. Even if you are in your 20’s and you happen to DVR it to indulge anytime you get a free few minutes or late-nights as you drift off to la-la-land. Maybe as a pick-me-up when you have a bad day. I can speak for both of these Betties when I say our favorite 90’s t.v. show was “Full House.” Yes, snicker if you will but deep down you know you have a soft spot in your heart for anytime little Michelle said “You got it, dude!”

Only the greatest and cheesiest of the 90’s!

As I watch the episode when Stephanie, (the one with the excessive middle child syndrome) starts a band in which she hires the über (still) attractive Uncle Jesse to manage her band, I realized a great life lesson. In this episode, Stephanie and her three friends practice their song “I Saw the Sign” by Ace of Base for the Wake Up San Fransisco “Young Talent Search.” She performs for her dad and her aunt, in the studio basement. They, of course, tell her and her band they are great. With that, they feel they are ready to rock and quickly fixate on their looks instead of the music. When it comes time to do the show, as one would expect they bomb.

So, here is my really great Betty-life lesson. The saying “practice makes perfect” is so true and relevant to almost any situation you may meet in life. If you don’t put in the time, your results will prove that. This is something that can be related to a job, dealing with a family member or even a co-worker (that boss of yours who never gives you a break). Take the saying and think about it like this: dealing with people is part of life, putting up with people’s criticisms is part of life. When Uncle Jesse tells Stephanie’s band they need to rehearse more and they disagree, the reluctantly fire Uncle J. Bad move. They did this because they didn’t like what he had to say. This is my point, we will all face people and situations we don’t like or want to deal with throughout life. We should “practice” how to tolerate and accept people even if they are full of stupidity or ignorance. Then “practice” how to be good, smile and know that you are the bigger person and you can always go for the delicious cocktail after work. When we “practice” then “perfect!”

Life Lessons from Us,
The Ultimate Betties xo

14 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect!

  1. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specifically the ultimate phase 🙂 I handle such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

